Frequently Asked Questions about ^IfMine
How do I sign up?
Go to http://IfMine.com, enter your email address in the box provided and set up an account by creating a username and password. You can also sign up by connecting your Facebook account.
How do I change my photo, name and biography?
You can change your photo, name and biography on your profile page. Click on the element you want to edit and hit save when you're finished.
How do I change my password, email and notifications?
Go to the Account page, the gear located in the upper right corner, to change your password, email address and notification options.
How do I create a project?
Click Create on the navigation bar to start a new project. You will need to name your project, add a synopsis, and optionally fill in a few tags to describe your project. When finished, click the save button to see your project. Once you've saved your project, you can invite people to collaborate or view it and add Notes on the Project tab. Any of this information can be edited later.
Can I make my project Public or Private?
On ^IfMine we have four privacy settings: Public, ^IfMine, Privileged, and Private.
Public: Anyone on the Internet can see your project. ^IfMine users can follow your project and make comments on your notes.
^IfMine: Anyone on the Internet can see your project's synopsis and cover photo, but only logged in users of ^IfMine can view and comment on your project notes.
Privileged: Anyone on ^IfMine can see your project's synopsis and cover photo as well as request access to view and comment on your project's notes. Only users that you add as Privileged Viewers or Collaborators can view and comment on your project's notes.
Private: Only users you add as Privileged Viewers or Collaborators can see your project and comment on its notes.
How do I invite Mentors or Collaborators?
After creating your project you'll see an "Invite People" header on the right hand sidebar. You're able to invite people to your project by entering their email address, name, or ^IfMine username. Select the correct users that appear in the drop-down menu. Users must first accept your invitation to become a Collaborator on the project before it's official.
What is the difference between a Privileged Viewer and a Collaborator?
Privileged viewers are people that you've given permission to read and comment on your project, even if you set it to Private.
Collaborators are people that you've given the ability to edit the synopsis, change the cover photo, and add, edit and delete notes.
Can I remove a Privileged Viewer or Collaborator from a project?
Yes, you can remove a user from your project at any time. Hover over the user's profile picture in the right hand sidebar. A white ex on red will appear. Clicking this will prompt you to confirm your choice to remove the user from your project.
How do I share a project?
We've recently integrated social sharing on ^IfMine and you're now able to broadcast projects to Twitter, Google+ and Facebook. Click the social buttons above a project's right hand sidebar to share the project.
When someone comments on my project, will I receive an email notification?
You will receive email notifications when someone:
Change your notification options by checking/unchecking the boxes on the Accounts page. You will also see a collection of comments on all your projects on your home page. To get to the home page, click the ^IfMine logo on the left of the navigation bar.
How do I Evolve a project?
Click the Evolve It button to move your project to a new stage of development. Mentors, Collaborators and Followers will stay with the project during each Evolution. You'll be given the opportunity to pick which, if any, notes you want the new evolution to have. Old notes will still be visible under the old evolutions.
How do I report a bug?
If you have a technical issue, click the Provide Feedback button at the bottom of the page, fill out the form provided and choose the Bug Report option.
How does ^IfMine protect my copyrights?
When you start a new project on ^IfMine, the date and time are recorded to provide proof of our project's creation date. In the event there is a dispute about the original source, the registered date on ^IfMine provides the third-party proof needed to protect your digital work.
How old do I have to be to sign up?
In order to register for ^IfMine, you must be 13 years old or older.
What if my question wasn't answered here?
For questions and comments about ^IfMine, click the Provide Feedback button at the bottom of the page, fill out the form provided and choose the Comments option. You may also visit our blog at http://blog.ifmine.com/ or ask us on Twitter or Facebook.